Katherine Mac Donald

Biography

Katherine has been part of the nonprofit sector for over fifteen years. Volunteering in various organizations since high school (including the Salvation Army, Oxfam Québec and Big Sisters of Montreal), she began working in the industry in 2008 at the Montreal SPCA in direct services to the public. She then followed her passion for sustainable practices by completing a degree in Environment and Development at McGill University. Later landing a position as a fundraising and communications manager in an animal rights organization, she developed her skills in both areas, even becoming the spokesperson of the organization. Her interest in sustainable development, paired with her fundraising abilities, led her to further pursue her studies at Université de Montréal with the Nonprofit Management Certificate.

Within PhiLab, Katherine began by being a research assistant, translating various documents, including blog articles, research summaries and newsletters. After a year as the Communications Manager, she is now, the Co-Coordinator of the Network. This entails managing the members and partners, website, social media platforms, the monthly newsletter and many overarching coordination tasks.

Awards and Distinctions

Local Award 2009- Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation

Miscellaneous

A big foodie, Katherine enjoys making (and eating) new and interesting meals from every corner of the world, especially if there is chocolate involved. She even started a food blog to showcase her own recipes and sustainable food practices she uncovered (www.grubgeeks.com). Katherine also enjoys going to music festivals, riding her bike on the empty streets late at night, spending time in a forest and arts & crafts.

Katherine Mac Donald

Biographie

Katherine fait partie du secteur caritatif depuis plus de quinze ans. Étant bénévole au sein de plusieurs organismes depuis le secondaire (incluant l’Armée du Salut, Oxfam Québec et les Grandes Soeurs de Montréal), elle a commencé à travailler en 2008 à la SPCA de Montréal dans les services directs au public. Elle a ensuite suivi sa passion pour les pratiques durables au programme de Développement durable de l’Université McGill. Plus tard, elle a eu un poste en tant que coordonnatrice de la collecte de fonds et des communications dans un organisme pour la protection des droits des animaux. À travers ce rôle, elle a développé ses compétences dans ces deux disciplines, devenant même la porte parole de l’organisme. Son intérêt pour le développement durable, de pair avec ses habiletés de collecte de fonds, l’ont amené à poursuivre ses études à l’Université de Montréal au Certificat en gestion philanthropique.

Au sein du PhiLab, Katherine a débuté en tant qu’assistante de recherche, traduisant une variété de documents incluant des articles de blog, des sommaires de recherche et des infolettres. Après un an en tant que chargé des communications, elle est maintenant Co-coordonnatrice du Réseau PhiLab. Elle est responsable, entre autres, des médias sociaux, des communications internes avec les membres et les partenaires, et des relations publiques.

Photo credit: Samuel B. Ofori

Prix et distinctions

Local Award 2009- Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation

Divers

Grande passionnée de nourriture, Katherine aime cuisiner (et manger) des repas intéressants de chaque coin du monde, surtout si le chocolat est à l’honneur. Elle a même commencé un blog pour mettre en valeur ses propres recettes et les pratiques environnementales qu’elle a découvertes (www.grubgeeks.com). Katherine aime aussi les festivals de musique, faire du vélo tard le soir sous les étoiles, passer du temps en forêt et le bricolage.