http://philab.uqam.ca/

Recherche

banniere lmrpc

Berthiaume Annabelle

Annabelle Berthiaume

Title or Function: PhD Candidate

Institution/Organization : School of Social Work, McGill University

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Annabelle Berthiaume is a research assistant in Cluster III on cases studies of collaborations between foundations. Under the supervision of Sylvain Lefèvre, she analyses potential strengths and weaknesses attributed to the creation of a foundation collective working on issues of social inequality in Quebec. Annabelle also collaborates as a research assistant on a joint research project with the Béati Foundation as part of the Services aux collectivités of UQAM exploring the relationship between the Foundation and fundees.

Outside the Laboratory:

Annabelle is a PhD candidate at McGill’s School of Social Work, in the joint program with University of Montréal and UQAM. Her research interests include exploring the different organizational models addressing social issues (public, private, community group), community action, and social movements. Her thesis addresses the question of collaboration between these models in a gentrifying neighbourhood in Montreal, Quebec.

Email Address: annabelle.berthiaume@mail.mcgill.ca

Websites: https://mcgill.academia.edu/AnnabelleBerthiaume


Gidluck Lynn

Lynn Gidluck, PhD

Title or Function: Research Assistant

Institution/Organization : Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Regina

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Lynn is privileged to have the opportunity to be serving as Dr. Iryna Khovrenkov's research assistant for this project. The work Dr. Khovrenkov has done on Canadian foundations is groundbreaking and her knowledge of quantitative methodologies, statistics and economic theory is inspiring.

Outside the Laboratory:

Lynn defended her Ph.D. dissertation in history and public policy from the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School at the University of Regina in 2015. Her Ph.D research focuses on collaborative governance and ways government agencies and the voluntary sector can work together more effectively.

When Lynn is not wearing her "academic" hat, she is a partner in a public relations firm. Through this work, she helps many non-profit organizations build capacity through fundraising campaigns, organizing special events and strategic communications efforts. Her other research interests include issues of race, racism and racial identity in transracial adoption and the history of social democracy. Her book – Visionaries, Crusaders and Firebrands: The Idealist Canadians that Built the NDP was published in 2012 by James Lorimer and Company. Together with a colleague from Memorial University she has published numerous journal articles and book chapters on adoption.

Email Address: lgidluck@benchmarkpr.ca

Websites:


Glass Juniper

Juniper Glass

Title or Function: Research Officer

Institution/Organization : Universite du Quebec a Montreal, Carleton University

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Collaborating with Jean-Marc Fontan and Nancy Pole, Juniper completed a study on how foundations are collaborating with each other across Canada. Collaborating with Francois Brouard, Juniper documented the challenges and opportunities related to reporting and information flows by and about grantmaking foundations. Paying particular attention to issues of transparency, accountability to communities, and effective partnerships, she hopes that this research will support the efforts of Canadian foundations to collaborate with other stakeholders and contribute to social change.

Outside the Laboratory:

Juniper Glass holds a Master in Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership. She is a consultant that supports foundations and nonprofits with grantmaking strategy, impact evaluation and partnership development. Her clients include Community Foundations of Canada, The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples, and Pathy Family Foundation. Juniper has worked in nonprofits for nearly 20 years, most recently as Senior Director, Strategy and Partnerships at Girls Action Foundation and previously in organizations addressing food security, affordable housing and sustainability. She is a member of SectorPulse, the national advisory council for Imagine Canada and The Philanthropist journal.

Email Address: juniperglass@gmail.com

Website: ca.linkedin.com/in/juniperglass/

http://lumiereconsulting.ca


thumb davidGP

David Grant-Poitras

Title or function : M.A. candidate

Institution/organization: Sociology of sociology, Université du Québec à Montréal

Involvement in the Laboratory :

David Grant-Poitras is responsible of the PhiLab monthly bulletin, Philanthropic Year, a bulletin that presents references on current scientific issues and on various themes related to grantmaking philanthropy. He also writes articles to feed the blog. These articles are an opportunity to go interviewing the philanthropic community.

Outside the Laboratory :

David is a candidate for the Masters in Sociology at the Université du Québec à Montréal. Under the supervision of Jean-Marc Fontan, his thesis examines the development of socially responsible finance within Quebec foundations. His research interests are in the field of the sociology of giving: the new frontiers for the philanthropic intervention of foundations, the social function of volunteerism and the perverse effects of donation on an international scale.

Email Address: davidgrant-p@hotmail.com


Hall Sara

Sara Hall

Title or Function: PhD Candidate

Institution/Organisation : McGill University

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Sara's involvement with the project began as a Research Assistant for Jean-Marc Fontan at UQAM in 2013, where She assisted with translating and editing the SSHRC grant application. Sara is currently a member of Cluster II – Legal and Governance – where she is working as a Research Assistant for Peter Elson. Their paper focuses on how Canadian grant-making foundations are engaged in the policy change process

Outside the Laboratory:

Sara is currently a PhD candidate in sociology at McGill University, and is based in Vancouver, BC. Her research interests include political sociology, social movements, nationalism, race and ethnicity, as well as citizenship, immigration, and cultural policy, in Western Europe and Canada. Her dissertation focuses on new museums of non-Western cultures in contemporary France as a means for addressing changing conceptions of nationhood and immigrant integration. She is also a copy editor for Studies in Ethnicity and Nationalism, and work as a freelance copy editor.

Email Address: sara.hall@mail.mcgill.ca


McDougall Corrie Lynn

Corrie Lynn McDougall

Title or Function: Research Assistant

Institution/Organization: Research Associate; PhD; Instructor in International Development Studies

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Dr. McDougall is working with Dr. Sid Frankel to produce a critical analysis of definitions and analytic frameworks based on a review of the Canadian and international literature. They are also working together to explore and assess the development and impact of The Winnipeg Foundation, which is the oldest community foundation in Canada established in 1921.

Outside the Laboratory:

Corrie Lynn graduated with a PhD. in Development and International Relations from Aalborg University, DK in 2008. She has been teaching at universities in Denmark and Canada in the areas of community-based development, the international aid system, and action research. Corrie Lynn’s research interests encompass: the formation and growth of non-profit organizations; strategic responses of non-profit organizations to changing policy; and organizational learning. Corrie Lynn has served on the boards of several nonprofit organizations and works as a freelance consultant on community development and organizational development for community-based and charitable organizations. She is a grant reviewer for the Manitoba Council for International Cooperation, a charitable foundation located in Winnipeg, MB.

Email Address: corrie.ominnik@gmail.com


photo NPole

Nancy Pole

Title or Function: Research Agent

Institution/Organization : Independent consultant

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Nancy Pole is preparing a literature review on philanthropy, cities and social innovation in summer-fall 2017, as part of the lead-up to the Summit on Philanthropic Culture to be held in November 2017. She also works with Jean-Marc Fontan as part of the evaluation team for Montreal’s Collective Impact Project, a community change accelerator coordinated by Centraide of Greater Montreal and bringing together eight other grantmaking foundations.

Over the past two years, Nancy completed two other research mandates for PhiLab:

- a literature review and a series of interviews as part of a landscape assessment framing the topic of collaborations amongst Canadian grantmaking foundations;  

-a case study on Vital Signs’ local collaborations. 

Outside the Laboratory:

Drawing upon 20 years of experience in the nonprofit and philanthropic sectors, Nancy is a consultant specializing in evaluation and strategic learning for networks, grantmakers and initiatives focusing on comprehensive community change.  In addition, she offers coaching and facilitation in planning and governance to networks, partnerships and collaborative ventures.

Nancy holds a Masters degree in Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership from Carleton University.  Her Masters research focused on Canadian grantmaking foundations’ evaluation and learning practices

- an area of interest that grew out of her own experience as a place-based grantmaker and program manager at Centraide of Greater Montreal. 

Email Address: nancypole@co-spire.ca

Website:


image carre vide

Nicole Rigillo

Title or Function: Research Assistant and Conference Coordinator

Institution/Organization : McGill University, Department of Anthropology

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Nicole is currently collaborating with Nazita Lajevardi, Mirle Rabinowitz Bussel, and James Stauch on a critical literature review of the history and current status of grant-making foundations in an international context. The review compares grant-making practices in the United States, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and France as a means of highlighting the specificity of the Canadian grantmaking scene.

Outside the Laboratory:

Nicole's research interests are located at the intersection of international development, global health, and forms of politics that centre on the enhancement of human life. She recently submitted her doctoral dissertation at McGill University, which examines corporate social responsibility as a non-state based form of welfare provision for resource poor communities in India. Her M.A. research sought to explain how and why rumours and mistrust have undermined public health campaigns promoting condoms for HIV prevention in Southern Africa. She has also been involved in several research projects focused on the health of Inuit and Aboriginal communities in Quebec. She is passionate about contemporary development research and practice, follows closely innovations in global health programming, and is on the lookout for new research partnerships and opportunities.

Email Address: nicole.rigillo@mail.mcgill.ca

Websites:


St Pierre Mélanie

Mélanie St-Pierre

Title or Function: MA Candidate

Institution/Organization: School of Management, UQAM

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Melanie is a research assistant under the supervision of Sylvain Lefèvre. She is working in Cluster III for the SSHRC partnership development project, which is focusing on case studies of collaboration and the influence of foundations. She is mainly studying the creation of a network of foundations in Quebec, as well as the challenges and opportunities of the process.

Outside the Laboratory:

Melanie is presently working as a Communication Advisor for Concert’Action Lachine, a coordinating committee involved in the neighborhood’s social development. She is doing a Master in Strategy, Social and Environmental Responsibility at Université du Québec à Montréal. For her research, Melanie is interested in collaborative spaces dedicated to open innovation and their potential for sustainable development

Email Address: melanie.l.stp@gmail.com


Retour en haut de page

https://philab.uqam.ca/

Recherche

banniere lmrpc

Berthiaume Annabelle

Annabelle Berthiaume

Titre ou Fonction: Doctorante

Institution/Organisation : École de travail social, Université McGill

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Annabelle Berthiaume est assistante de recherche dans le groupe de travail III portant sur les études de cas sur les collaborations. Sous la supervision de Sylvain Lefèvre, elle observe l’évolution, les opportunités et les enjeux entourant la démarche de création d’un réseau de fondations québécoises autour de la question des inégalités sociales. Annabelle collabore également à titre d’auxiliaire de recherche sur un projet en partenariat avec les Services aux collectivités de l’UQAM et la Fondation Béati visant à analyser la relation établie entre la Fondation et les groupes financés.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Annabelle est candidate au doctorat en travail social à l’Université McGill, dans le cadre du programme conjoint avec l’Université de Montréal et l’UQAM. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les différentes organisations qui prennent en charge les questions sociales (public, privé et communautaire), l’action communautaire et les mouvements sociaux. Sa thèse aborde la cohabitation de ces organisations dans un quartier en processus de gentrification à Montréal au Québec.

Adresse courriel : annabelle.berthiaume@mail.mcgill.ca

Sites internet : https://mcgill.academia.edu/AnnabelleBerthiaume


Gidluck Lynn

Lynn Gidluck, PhD

Titre ou Fonction: Assistante de recherche

Institution/Organisation : Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, Université de Regina

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Lynn travaille auprès du Dr Iryna Khovrenkov en tant que son assistante de recherche. Le travail que le Dr Khovrenkov a fait sur les fondations canadiennes est reconnu et ses connaissances des méthodes quantitatives, des statistiques et de la théorie économique sont des sources d'inspiration.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Lynn a défendu sa thèse de doctorat en histoire et politiques publiques à Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy de l'Université de Regina en 2015. Sa thèse porte sur la gouvernance collaborative et les façons par lesquelles les agences du gouvernement et le secteur bénévole peuvent travailler ensemble plus efficacement.

Lorsque Lynn ne porte pas son chapeau académique, elle est un partenaire dans une firme de relations publiques. Grâce à ce travail, elle aide de nombreux organismes sans but lucratif à renforcer leurs capacités à travers des campagnes de collecte de fonds, l'organisation d'événements spéciaux et des efforts de communication stratégiques. Ses autres intérêts de recherche portent sur les questions de race, le racisme et l'identité raciale dans l'adoption interraciale et l'histoire de la social-démocratie. Son livre - Visionaries, Crusaders and Firebrands: The Idealist Canadians that Built the NDP a été publié en 2012 par James Lorimer et Compagnie. Avec l'aide d'un collègue de l'Université Memorial, elle a publié de nombreux articles de journaux scientifiques et des chapitres de livres sur le sujet de l'adoption.

Adresse courriel : lgidluck@benchmarkpr.ca

Sites internet : 


Glass Juniper

Juniper Glass

Titre ou Fonction: Agente de recherche

Institution/Organisation : Université de Quebec a Montreal, Université Carleton

Rôle au Laboratoire :

En collaboration avec Jean-Marc Fontan et Nancy Pole, Juniper Glass a completé une étude sur la collaborations entres les fondations canadiennes. Avec François Brouard, Juniper a aussi documenté les défis et opportunités liées au compte-rendu et le transfert d'informations fait par et à propos des fondations subventionnaires. En accordant une attention particulière aux questions de la transparence, les relations avec les communautés, et les partenariats efficaces, elle espère que ses recherches soutiendront les efforts des fondations canadiennes à collaborer avec d'autres intervenants et d'ainsi contribuer au changement social.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Juniper Glass, titulaire d'une maitrise en Philanthropie et la gestion des organismes sans but lucratif, appuie les fondations et les organismes en tant que consultante en stratégie philanthropique et spécialiste en partenariat. Ses clients incluent les Fondations communautaires du Canada, le Cercle sur le philanthropie et les peuples autochtones, et la Fondation de la famille Pathy. Elle travaille dans le domaine des organismes sans but lucratif depuis presque 20 ans, plus récemment comme directrice principale, Stratégie et partenariat à la Fondation filles d'action et antérieurement pour des organismes travaillant pour la sécurité alimentaire, le logement abordable et le développement durable. Elle est membre du comité nationale "Pouls du secteur" qui soutient Imagine Canada et le journal Le Philanthrope.

Adresse courriel : juniperglass@gmail.com

Site internet : ca.linkedin.com/in/juniperglass/

http://lumiereconsulting.ca


thumb davidGP

David Grant-Poitras

Titre ou fonction : Candidat à la maitrise

Institution/Organisation : département de sociologie, Université du Québec à Montréal

Rôle au Laboratoire :

David Grant-Poitras est responsable du bulletin mensuel de l’Observatoire du PhiLab, L’année Philanthropique, qui présente des références sur l’actualité scientifique et sur diverses thématiques en lien avec la philanthropie subventionnaire. Il rédige aussi des articles pour alimenter le blogue. Ces articles sont l’occasion d’aller sur le terrain pour interroger les acteurs du milieu philanthropique.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

David est candidat à la maitrise en sociologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Sous la supervision de Jean-Marc Fontan, son mémoire étudie les développements d’une finance socialement responsable au sein des fondations québécoises. Ses intérêts de recherche se situent dans le champ de la sociologie du don : les nouvelles frontières d’intervention philanthropique des fondations, la fonction sociale du bénévolat et les effets pervers du don à l’échelle internationale.

Adresse courriel : davidgrant-p@hotmail.com


Hall Sara

Sara Hall

Titre ou Fonction: Candidate au doctorat

Institution/Organisation : Université McGill

Rôle au Laboratoire :

La participation de Sara au projet a débuté en tant qu'assistante de recherche pour Jean-Marc Fontan à l'UQAM en 2013, où elle a aidé à la traduction et à la préparation de la demande de subvention du CRSH. Sara est actuellement membre du groupe de travail II : Aspect juridique et processus de gouvernance, où elle travaille comme assistante de recherche pour Peter Elson. Leur travail met l'accent sur la façon dont les fondations subventionnaires canadiennes sont engagées dans le processus de changement de politique.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Sarah est présentement une candidate au doctorat en sociologie à l'université McGill et réside à Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la sociologie politique, les mouvements sociaux, le nationalisme, la race et l'origine ethnique, ainsi que la citoyenneté, l'immigration et la politique culturelle en Europe occidentale et au Canada. Sa thèse porte sur les nouveaux musées de cultures non-occidentales dans la France contemporaine comme un moyen pour aborder l'évolution des conceptions de la nation et de l'intégration des immigrants. Sarah est aussi correctrice pour Studies in Ethnicity and Nationalism et travaille comme pigiste en tant que correctrice.

Adresse courriel : sara.hall@mail.mcgill.ca


McDougall Corrie Lynn

Corrie Lynn McDougall

Titre ou Fonction: Assistante de recherche; Doctorat; Professeure en études du développement international

Institution/Organisation : Université du Manitoba

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Dr. McDougall travaille avec le Dr. Sid Frankel pour produire une analyse critique des définitions et des cadres analytiques basés sur une revue de la littérature canadienne et internationale. Ils travaillent aussi ensemble afin d’explorer et évaluer le développement et l’impact de la Winnipeg Foundation, qui est la plus ancienne fondation communautaire établie au Canada depuis 1921.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Corrie Lynn a obtenu un doctorat en développement et relations internationales de l'Université d'Aalborg, DK en 2008. Elle a enseigné dans des universités au Danemark et au Canada dans les domaines du développement communautaire, le système d'aide internationale et la recherche-action. Les intérêts de recherche de Corrie Lynn englobent : la formation et la croissance des organismes à but non lucratif ; les réponses stratégiques des organismes à but non lucratif aux changements de politiques ; et l'apprentissage organisationnel. Corrie Lynn a siégé aux conseils d'administration de plusieurs organismes sans but lucratif et a travaillé comme consultante indépendante sur le développement communautaire et le développement organisationnel pour des organismes de bienfaisance. Elle est aussi examinatrice de demandes de subventions pour Manitoba Council for International Cooperation, une fondation de bienfaisance située à Winnipeg, MB.

Adresse courriel : corrie.ominnik@gmail.com


Pole Nancy

Nancy Pole

Titre ou Fonction: Agente de recherche

Institution/Organisation : Consultante autonome

Rôle au Laboratoire :

À l’automne 2016 Nancy Pole effectue une recherche-action qui reconstitue et contextualise la genèse et la mise en place du Projet Impact Collectif, une initiative concertée de soutien au développement des communautés réunissant huit fondations philanthropiques, dont Centraide du Grand Montréal en tant qu’opérateur.Depuis le début de 2015, Nancy a réalisé deux autres mandats de recherche dans le cadre de la Grappe 3 du projet CRSH :- une étude de cas portant sur les collaborations entre fondations communautaires et autres acteurs locaux dans le cadre du programme Signes Vitaux;- une revue de la littérature et une série d’entretiens contribuant à produire un topo global du phénomène de la collaboration entre fondations philanthropiques au Canada.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Avec 20 ans à son actif en milieu communautaire et philanthropique, Nancy Pole offre de l’accompagnement :- en évaluation pour organismes communautaires, fondations philanthropiques et pour initiatives de mobilisation intersectorielle;- en planification et en gouvernance de démarches collectives.  Pour sa recherche de maîtrise (complétée en 2015, programme Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership  de l’Université Carleton), elle s’est intéressée aux pratiques d’évaluation chez les fondations philanthropiques canadiennes – un intérêt qui est né au fil de ses années passées chez Centraide du Grand Montréal au poste de conseillère en planification et développement.

Adresse courriel : nancypole@co-spire.ca

Site Internet :


 

Nicole Rigillo

Titre ou Fonction: Assistante de recherche et coordinatrice de conférence

Institution/Organisation : Département d'anthropologie à l'Université McGill

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Nicole collabore présentement avec Nazita Lajevardi, Mirle Rabinowitz Bussel et James Stauch afin de produire un examen critique de la documentation portant sur l'histoire et le statut actuel des fondations subventionnaires dans un contexte international. Cet examen compare les pratiques d'octroi de subventions des fondations subventionnaires aux États-Unis, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Royaume-Uni et la France afin de mettre en évidence la spécificité de la scène de subventionnement canadienne.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Les intérêts de recherche de Nicole sont situés à l'intersection du développement international, la santé mondiale, et les formes de la politique qui se concentrent sur l'amélioration de la vie humaine.
Elle a récemment soutenu à l'université McGill sa thèse de doctorat qui examine la responsabilité sociale des entreprises comme une forme de protection sociale non-gouvernementale pour les communautés pauvres en ressources en Inde. Son mémoire de maîtrise expliquait comment et pourquoi les rumeurs et la méfiance ont sapé les campagnes de santé publique qui cherchaient à promouvoir l'utilisation du préservatif pour la prévention du VIH en Afrique du Sud. Elle a également été impliquée dans plusieurs projets de recherche axés sur la santé des Inuits et des communautés autochtones E du Québec. Elle est passionnée de recherche sur le développement et la pratique contemporaine, suivit de près par les innovations dans la programmation de la santé mondiale, et est à l'affût de nouveaux partenariats et de possibilités de recherche.

Adresse courriel : nicole.rigillo@mail.mcgill.ca

Sites Internet :


St Pierre Mélanie

Mélanie St-Pierre

Titre ou Fonction: Candidate à la maîtrise

Institution/Organisation : École des sciences de la gestion, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Mélanie est assistante de recherche sous la supervision de Sylvain Lefèvre dans le groupe de travail III, qui se penche sur des études de cas sur les collaborations et l'influence des fondations. Elle travaille plus précisément à étudier la démarche de création d'un réseau de fondations québécoises ainsi que les opportunités et enjeux y étant reliés.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Mélanie occupe un poste d’agente de communication pour Concert’Action Lachine, la table de concertation pour le développement social de l’arrondissement de Lachine. Elle complète une maîtrise en stratégie, responsabilité sociale et environnementale à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Dans le cadre de ses recherches, elle s’intéresse principalement aux espaces collaboratifs dédiés à l’innovation ouverte et à leur potentiel pour un développement durable.

Adresse courriel : melanie.l.stp@gmail.com


Retour en haut de page