http://philab.uqam.ca/

Recherche

banniere lmrpc

Cheung Leslie

Leslie L. Cheung, PhD

Title or Function: Project Manager, LaboMTL Communications Coordinator, & Partnership Development Liaison

Institution/Organization: LaboMTL, UQAM

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Leslie coordinates online communications for the Laboratory, including generating website content and managing the Lab's social media profile. For the SSHRC funded project, she provides strategic and operational direction for the Management Committee as well all four research clusters, and is liaison for team members engaged in research, event organisation, and website management.

Outside the Laboratory:

Leslie has been working in the field of immigration and diversity for over 10 years, as a community organiser, researcher, policy analyst, and grant administrator. She received her Master in Public Policy from Simon Fraser University, and her Bachelor in Social Work from McGill University. Leslie completed her PhD in the Department of Sociology at McGill University on the intersectionality of race and language and its effect on measures of social integration of second generation immigrants, particularly in the Quebec context. She also has experience creating successful local and international projects that are focused on her interest in organisational and professional development.

Email Address: leslie.cheung@mail.mcgill.ca

Website:


 
 
Danis Natachat

Natachat Danis

Title or Function: Research Assistant, Université du Québec à Montréal

Institution/Organization: CRISES

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Natachat worked with Professor Jean-Marc Fontan in the department of sociology at UQAM as a research assistant.

Outside the Laboratory:

Natachat received training in organic horticulture and works as a consultant in urban agriculture. She is founder of the company Eco Gaia, which guides individuals, businesses and institutions in developing edible arrangements projects. She is currently completing a Masters in Environmental Science on the energy efficiency of greenhouses and their integration in urban areas. She hopes her research will optimize the vegetable production through better organization of the greenhouses. Natachat also promotes local food, eco-responsible consumption and biodiversity through workshops on creative integration of native, edible, medicinal and dye plants.

Email Address: ecogaia.infos@gmail.com

Website: www.ecogaia.ca


El jed Mahdiah

Mahdiah El-Jed

Title or Function: Research Assistant

Institution/Organization : CRISES/Chair on Social Responsibility and Sustainable Development.

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Mahdian was a research assistant on the SSHRC funded partnership development project. As part of this research project, her particular role was to look into collaborations taking place around the theme of food security, by looking at the specific case study of Community Food Centres Canada. Thus, cooperation and collaboration between donors and the food system actors are topics that will be discussed in this research project.

Outside the Laboratory:

Mahdiah's research interests are around social finance and impact investing, including how to support social innovation to facilitate the development of tools to better direct impact investments to bridge the gap between research and implementation. Also, she is interested in the role of startups in the transformation of the food system and institutional funding. She is equally interested in the issue of structural racism in the food system as well as food sovereignty issues for aboriginal people.

Email Address:


Lim William

William Lim

Title or Function: Research Assistant

Institution/Organisation : Western Law

Involvement in the Laboratory:

William is acting as Adam Parachin’s research assistant, where he is examining the unique legal issues related to grantmaking foundations’ (GMFs) advocacy and how the current law affects them

Outside the Laboratory:

William is pursuing his JD at Western Law where he has worked at the Sport Solution clinic for the past two years. This clinic counsels and advocates for Canada’s high performance athletes. He is a former member of the York University Varsity swim team where he was a 3-time Academic All-Canadian. He has acted as Adam Parachin’s research assistant for the past year and continues to provide assistance in matters relating to the legal and regulatory treatment of charities and charitable gifts at large.

Email Addresswlim6@uwo.ca


Liu Mengjiao

Mengjiao Liu

Title or Function: Research Assistant

Institution/Organisation: University of Québec in Montréal

Involvement in the Laboratory:

Mengjiao Liu is constructing a bibliography for the laboratory that will provide useful, relevant, and publicly available research material to facilitate the work of researchers and partners in the field of philanthropy in Canada. She selects, classifies, and summarises relevant documents in both French and English for the development of a database on the Lab’s website.

Outside the Laboratory:

Mengjiao Liu is completing her MA in the sociology department at UQAM. Her research project focuses on the evaluation systems used to assess the impact of the grantmaking foundations. She is passionate about improving the measurement of the societal impacts of philanthropic projects. Her working experience in the financial investment area triggered her interest in the venture philanthropy field and she hopes to help foundations improve their grantmaking and investment strategy. Her strength in multiple languages (English, French and Mandarin) and background in international studies has helped her develop the international perspective necessary for work in philanthropic fields.

Email Addresses


Longtin David

David Longtin

Title or Function: Research Assistant

Institution/Organization : University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM)

Involvement in the Laboratory:

As part of the Social Innovation, Societal Change and Canadian Grantmaking Foundations project, David Longtin is working on a case study on the nature and impacts of collaborations which have been developed among eight Canadian grantmaking foundations involved in the Early Child Development Funders Working Group.

Outside the Laboratory:

David Longtin holds a master's degree in political science from the University of Quebec in Montreal and works as a research assistant at the CRISES. His research interests focus on social imaginaries, citizenship studies, theoretical and empirical perspectives on democratization and collective actions in Latin America. Since 2009, he has contributed to different partnership research projects of the CRISES on philanthropy and social innovation in the province of Quebec. Since 2011, he assists a team of researchers to build a database which, as a statistical observatory, will enable longitudinal, spatial and sectoral analysis of social innovation.

Email Address: longton.david@uqam.ca


Wilson Dan

Dan Wilson

Title or Function: Director, Strategy & Performance

Institution/Organization : Ontario Trillium Foundation

Involvement in the Laboratory:

The Ontario Trillium Foundation is one of the original research partners for the SSHRC funded project and Dan acted as their representative on the Management Committee and provides strategic support to Cluster I, which is exploring the state of philanthropy in Canada.

Outside the Laboratory:

Dan Wilson is a Credentialed Evaluator and the Director, Strategy & Performance with the Ontario Trillium Foundation. His team also leads the Foundation's research, evaluation and learning strategy. Dan's background includes community development, capacity building, and health promotion. He has also spent some time as a Program Manager with the Foundation.

Email Address: dwilson@otf.ca

Website: www.otf.ca/


Retour en haut de page

http://philab.uqam.ca/

Recherche

banniere lmrpc

 

Cheung LeslieLeslie L. Cheung, PhD

Titre ou Fonction : Gestionnaire de projet, Coordinatrice des communications du LaboMTL, & Liaison du développement de partenariat. 

Institution/Organisation : LaboMTL, UQÀM

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Leslie coordonne les communications en ligne pour le Laboratoire, incluant la production de contenu du site Web et la gestion des medias sociaux pour le Labo. Pour le projet subventionné par CRSH, elle fournit la direction stratégique et opérationnelle pour le comité d'encadrement, aussi bien que pour les quatre groupes de travail, et elle agit en tant qu'agente de liaison pour les membres des équipes engagés en recherche, en organisation des événements, et la gestion du site Web.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Leslie a travaillé dans le domaine d'immigration et diversité pendant plus de 10 ans en tant qu'organisatrice communautaire, chercheuse, analyste des politiques, et administratrice de subventions. Elle a reçu sa maîtrise des politiques publiques de l'Université Simon Fraser, et son baccalauréat en travail social de l'Université McGill. Leslie a terminé son doctorat dans le département de sociologie à l'Université McGill au sujet de l'intersectionalité de la race et de la langue et son effet sur les mesures d'intégration sociale chez les immigrants de la deuxième génération, particulièrement dans le contexte du Québec. Elle a aussi de l'expérience dans la création de projets locaux et internationaux qui sont représentatifs de son intérêt visant le développement organisationnel et professionnel.

Adresse courriel : leslie.cheung@mail.mcgill.ca

Site internet :

https://www.linkedin.com/in/cheungleslie
@lesliePhD


Danis Natachat

Natachat Danis

Titre ou Fonction: Assistante de recherche, Université du Québec à Montréal

Institution/Organisation : CRISES

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Natachat travaillait auprès du professeur Jean-Marc Fontan du département de sociologie de l’UQAM en tant qu’assistante de recherche.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Natachat a suivi une formation en horticulture biologique et travaille comme consultante en agriculture urbaine. Elle est fondatrice de l’entreprise Éco Gaïa qui accompagne particuliers, entreprises et institutions dans la réalisation de projets d’aménagements comestibles. Elle complète actuellement, une maîtrise en Sciences de l’environnement sur l’efficacité énergétique des serres et leur intégration en milieu urbain. Elle propose une manière d'optimiser les productions de légumes à travers un aménagement optimal des serres. Elle fait également la promotion de l’alimentation locale, de la consommation écoresponsable ainsi que de la biodiversité par le biais d’ateliers sur l’intégration créative de plantes indigènes, comestibles, médicinales et tinctoriales dans les aménagements.

Adresse courriel : ecogaia.infos@gmail.com

Site internet : www.ecogaia.ca


El jed Mahdiah

Mahdiah El-Jed

Titre ou Fonction: Assistante de recherche

Institution/Organisation : CRISES/Chaire de responsabilité sociale et développement durable

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Mahdiah occupait le poste d'assistante de recherche dans le cadre notre projet de recherche. Dans le cadre de ce projet, son rôle plus spécifique était de se pencher sur les collaborations prenant place autour du thème de la sécurité alimentaire, en prenant comme étude de cas Community Food Centres Canada. Ainsi, la concertation et les collaborations entre bailleurs et acteurs du système alimentaire sont des sujets qui sont abordés dans l'étude de cas qu'elle réalisait.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Ses intérêts de recherche se situent au niveau de la finance sociale et de l'investissement à caractère social, notamment comment soutenir l'innovation sociale afin de faciliter le développement d'outils permettant de mieux orienter les investissements sociaux. De plus, elle s'intéresse au rôle des startups dans la transformation du système alimentaire. Elle s'intéresse également aux enjeux portant sur le racisme structurel dans le système agroalimentaire ainsi qu'aux questions de souveraineté alimentaire des peuples autochtones.

Adresses courriel : el_jed.mahdiah@courrier.uqam.ca


Lim William

William Lim

Titre ou Fonction: Assistant de recherche

Institution/Organisation :Western Law

Rôle au Laboratoire :

William agit en qualité d'assistant de recherche d'Adam Parachin, où il étudie les questions juridiques liées spécifiquement à la défense des intérêts des fondations subventionnaires et comment la loi actuelle les affecte.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

William poursuit son J.D. à Western Law où il travaille à la clinique de Solution Sportive depuis les deux dernières années. Cette clinique conseille et plaide pour les athlètes de haute performance du Canada. Il est un ancien membre de l'équipe de natation de l'Université York où il a été trois fois honorés à titre d’étoile académique canadienne. Il a agi comme assistant de recherche d'Adam Parachin pour l'année écoulée et continue de fournir une assistance dans les questions relatives au traitement juridique et réglementaire des organismes de bienfaisance et dons de bienfaisance au sens large.

Adresse courriel : wlim6@uwo.ca


Liu Mengjiao

Mengjiao Liu

Titre ou Fonction: Assistante de recherche

Institution/Organisation : Université du Québec à Montréal

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Mengjiao Liu construit la bibliographie pour le Laboratoire. Elle fait la recherche des documents concernant la revue de littérature, la sélection, la classification et le résumé des documents pertinents, la traduction entre français et anglais et la construction d’une base de données. Elle fournit le soutien de contenu pour le moteur de recherche du site internet. Elle espère que son travail peut faciliter la recherche des chercheurs et partenaires du laboratoire.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Comme une candidate à la maîtrise, la recherche de Mengjiao Liu concentre sur le système d’évaluation des impacts des fondations subventionnaires. Elle est passionnée par la mesure de l’impact social des projets philanthropiques. Son expérience de travail dans le domaine d’investissement financier lui donne un grand intérêt vers l’idée d’amener les stratégies d’investissement du secteur des affaires privées dans la gestion des fondations subventionnaires pour rendre le travail philanthropique plus efficace. Sa connaissance de plusieurs langues (anglais, français et mandarin) et son parcours des études internationales lui permet de développer une perspective internationale dans ce domaine.

Adresses courriel :


Longtin David

David Longtin

Titre ou Fonction: Assistant de recherche

Institution/Organisation : Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM)

Rôle au Laboratoire :

Dans le cadre du projet Innovation sociale, changement sociétal et les fondations subventionnaires canadiennes, David Longtin travaille à la réalisation d'une étude de cas portant sur la nature et les impacts de collaborations qui ont été développées entre huit fondations canadiennes qui sont parties prenantes du Groupe de travail des bailleurs de fonds pour le développement des jeunes enfants.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

David Longtin détient une maîtrise en science politique de l'Université du Québec à Montréal et travaille comme professionnel de recherche au CRISES. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les imaginaires sociaux, les études de la citoyenneté, les approches théoriques et empiriques de la démocratisation et des actions collectives en Amérique latine. Depuis 2009, il a contribué à différents projets de recherche partenariaux du CRISES portant sur la philanthropie et l'innovation sociale au Québec. Depuis 2011, il appuie une équipe de chercheurs dans la construction d'une base de données qui permettra d'effectuer des analyses longitudinales, spatiales et sectorielles de l'innovation sociale.

Adresse courriel :  longtin.david@uqam.ca


Wilson Dan

Dan Wilson

Titre ou Fonction: Directeur, Stratégie et Performance

Institution/Organisation : Ontario Trillium Foundation

Rôle au Laboratoire :

L' Ontario Trillium Foundation est l'un des partenaires du projet de recherche CRSH et Dan agissait en tant que leur représentant sur le comité de direction. Il fournissait aussi un appui stratégique au groupe de travail I qui consiste à explorer l'état de la philanthropie au Canada.

En dehors du Laboratoire :

Dan Wilson est un évaluateur accrédité et le directeur de la section Stratégie et Performance de l'Ontario Trillium Foundation. Son équipe mène également la section recherche, évaluation et stratégie d'apprentissage de la Fondation. Les expériences de travail de Dan incluent le développement communautaire, le renforcement des capacités, et la promotion de la santé. Il a également passé un certain temps en tant que directeur de programme à la Fondation.

Adresse courriel : dwilson@otf.ca

Site internet : www.otf.ca/

Retour en haut de page